Filip H.A. Claeys

Trekking in Mountainous and Subarctic Regions

Quebec 2016: La Mauricie – bis

2 Comments

The third and last day of the beautiful Labour Day weekend takes me and my packraft back to La Mauricie national park, where at higher elevations the first signs of autumn foliage are starting to appear. This time I leave the beaten path and do a tour that day-trippers normally won’t do as it involves several portages.

I start with a 500 m portage from the parking to Soumire Lake. On the other side of the lake is another 500 m portage to Giron Lake. Once across this lake there is a 1 km portage to the small Dubon lake, followed by a 500 m portage to Dauphinais Lake. I have lunch at the other side of Dauphinais Lake, do a bit of swimming and then return the same way to the parking.

As expected, I do not meet any day-trippers on this tour, only a number of canoeing parties that have spent the weekend camping on one of the primitive back-country camp sites around des Cinq Lake, and are on their way back to civilization.

On this trip I strap my backpack to my packraft in such a way that by putting on the backpack without detaching it from the raft, I can easily carry the raft entirely inflated. It is clear that this way I have a major advantage over the canoers, who have a hard time carrying their stuff over the slippery, stony and steep paths. Overall, I am able to proceed almost twice as fast as the canoers. They have the advantage on the open waters, while I have much more of an advantage during portages.

Pictures > Quebec 2016-09-05: La Mauricie

dsc_0356

dsc_0369

dsc_0362

dsc_0377

dsc_0411

2 thoughts on “Quebec 2016: La Mauricie – bis

  1. Om van te watertanden

    Like

Leave a Reply

