Filip H.A. Claeys

Trekking in Mountainous and Subarctic Regions

Iceland 2016: Hellismannaleið

Leave a comment

The pictures of the first stretch of my 2016 Iceland trek have been uploaded. This stretch started at the hut in Rjúpnavellir and took me to the well-known rhyolite mountains and hot springs of Landmannalaugar, approximately 60 km further east. The trail is known as Hellismannaleið and leads through a totally barren, lifeless and often pathless volcanic wasteland, where any individual cannot but feel small in the face of the forces of nature.

Exceptionally I didn’t take my Nikon D90 DSLR with me. Reasons being that I expected bad weather (which wasn’t the case) and that I wanted to be able to travel fast. Instead I used my GoPro, which has an ultra wide angle lens that actually doesn’t do too badly for capturing these types of landscapes.

Rjúpnavellir – Áfangagil – Landmannahellir – Landmannalaugar

Pictures > Iceland 2016-08: Hellismannaleid

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0218.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0304.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0372.

Leave a Reply

